Eid Mubarak

It makes me think that the extent to which religious or other celebrations are celebrated pompously is positively correlated with the wealth of a particular social class. Think of it this way, a couple of years ago (let’s say a decade at the very least) it was Christmas that was really occupying the minds of marketing managers, sellers of all kind and of course consumers of ideas/goods. Now the Eid el Fitr (the last day of Ramadan, that breaks the whole fast period) may soon challenges Christmas foundations (investment-wise I mean). It tells you a bit about the evolving socio-economic configuration of the country.

In any case, this picture is taken from Al-Akhbar’s front page. By contrast for l’Orient le Jour (the French daily) today there is no Eid it seems. Funny, imagine l’Orient le Jour not mentioning Christmas on the 26th of December.

3 Replies to “Eid Mubarak”

  1. sorry but I am being a bit paranoid these days so I’ll clarify although you may have understood what I meant in the first place with this post.

    I am not critizing the celebration of the Eid (nor the celebration of any religious event for that matter), I am just pointing out its instrumentalization for mass consumption.

    The assumption I work on is that religious celebration were traditionally done a more simple and straightforward setting. I guess you could think of the Prophet Mohammad at the back of his car screaming “Eid Mubarak”! I don’t think this was his idea of Eid.

    So Eid Mubarak and nice blog you have 🙂

Leave a Reply

